Pixscan!

21 01 2017

So there’s this feature on the Silhouette that allows you to stamp an image and through a series of magic tricks allows the machine to cut it out for you.

I can’t believe I’ve waited so long to play with it. I will say, that some people with the Cameo 3 are having some issues with it, and I’m one of them. I’m hoping for a fix in the next software update because this thing is…wowzers. It’s got me thinking about all the stamps I have and how I could use them.

Pixscan also makes it easier to use your scraps. There’s tutorials galore out there, so I won’t bore you with them here. But I want to share some of my first pixscan experiments with you 🙂

The first one is a tag that answers, partially, the question of why I create. Besides feeling free, it relaxes me, it makes me feel accomplished at something, it brings others joy. On this tag, I used pixscan to cut out the winged woman. I also cut out two additional layers of her because I wanted some solid dimension.

In my next experiment with pixscan, I decided to cut out a mat around the object instead of cutting the object out. Bingo! I also cut out a mat for it. You can see those in the picture. Next, I designed a background for this piece in Craft Artist then transferred it into Silhouette and did a print and cut before attaching the colored and matted image.

The last card I did the same thing that I did with the second card, but with a different image. The winged woman is another stamp. You may think she looks familiar, and you’d be right. I have the same image in a large and small stamp. Obviously, this is the large stamp. Again, I created the back ground for the card in Craft Artist, but instead of making it flat, I loaded the pieces of the card into Silhouette, traced them, did a print and cut, then assembled the card.

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

