In Case You Didn’t Know, Mother’s Day is This Month

5 05 2017

I hope you’re blessed enough to have a few women in your life that you can give special thanks to this month. I know I am:)

One of those women is my sister that has walked roads through journeys I hope to never travel. She collects frogs. So this year, her card has a frog on it.

If you look through my blog, you know I LOVE to use my Silhouette Cameo. And one of the ways I love to use it makes me giddy. I turn the cutting files into digital stamps, thus making my purchase of the digital cutting file go further. I ❤ saving money.

Here’s a quick run down on how I made the card. It’s really a simple process.

First, I imported the file. As you can see, the parts are filled with different colors to give you color ideas. You can find the file here in the Silhouette Design Store.

img_1678

To use it as a digital stamp, I changed the fill color to white and the outline to black. The next step is to change the line weight so the image shows up when printed. After that,  I sized it to a 5×7 card front and added the greeting and a digital mat behind the white so there’s a little layered look going on.

img_1621

Then I printed the image onto cardstock and colored it with my copics and prismacolor pencils. Once the frog was done, I drew in and colored the leaf.

img_1622

Lastly, I used the print & cut feature on my Cameo and cut out the finished card front thenlayered it onto a 5×7 card. When I had it securely in place, I used Glossy Accents by Ranger to finish off the frog’s eyes. I love how it brought out the red 🙂

img_1680

Thanks for stopping by!

xoxo

 

Actions

Information

3 responses

17 05 2017
Sherri

Very clever! Nicely done. Can you explain why you used PnC instead of just cutting it out? PnC seems like extra work.

17 05 2017
ajdurrant

Thank you 🙂
As for the PnC, I’m a perfectionist and doing the pnc gives me straighter, more accurate cuts 🙂 It’s just personal preference 😀

30 06 2017
Elephant Card to go with the Elephant Baby Shower Cards  | ajdurrant

[…] In this card, I used a cut file from the Silhouette Store as a digital stamp. The elephant was pretty fun to color 🙂 (Quick tutorial on using cut files as digital stamps here) […]

Leave a Reply

