Struggling With Another Sympathy Card

3 03 2017

I’ve made plenty of sympathy cards. While they aren’t the most fun cards to make, I’m grateful I can do something, no matter how small, that may bring comfort to someone. The comfort may not come right away, because nothing can replace the lost one loved, the crater of loss is just too big. But maybe when they’re no longer numb, they can look through the cards that people have given them and find comfort knowing they’re not forgotten.

In January, one of my cousins was shot and killed. I struggled trying to make the perfect sympathy card. I received wise words from a few of my online friends that helped settle my nerves about this card being perfect. This allowed me to create from my heart. I later heard from my mom, that her sister (my aunt) loved the card, that it was what she needed and it brought comfort. That is one of the reasons I create, to let people know someone is thinking about them.

Yesterday, my uncle (other side of the family) passed away. I find myself in the same position as before. I want this card to be perfect. It won’t be. The only perfect card for this situation is one that can bring their loved one back, and as magical as cards can be, they just can’t do this.

So far, I’ve tried two card ideas. They don’t feel right. So tonight, I’ll keep working on it. My uncle was an amazing man and I want to honor him.

It may take me a few days to get something that’s just right, but he’s worth it.

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 03 2017
Ginger

I’m sorry for your loss. You and your family are in my prayers.

4 03 2017
ajdurrant

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

