Winter Pixie House

20 01 2017

This was so fun! The house is part of a kit called Fairy Cottage from SVG Cuts. I decided it needed to be a winter house. I wanted to try a double embossing technique. So for places like the roof, and the steps, I used my snowflake embossing folder and my Evolution Advanced. They have snowflakes, but they don’t sparkle like snow. So I took those embossed pieces and covered them with embossing ink then embossed with a clear embossing powder that has sparkles in it.

It didn’t work like I’d hoped. I was hoping that just the raised parts of the paper (so basically the snowflakes) would be inked and double embossed. But the ink covered more than that, so I just ran with that. The outcome? I have very shimmery surfaces, but the dry embossed snowflakes aren’t necessarily standing out as I’d hoped. But it still worked out 🙂

I also wanted to add a touch of whimsy to the house and used an elf cupcake wrapper file from the Silhouette Store. Obviously, I didn’t use the wrapper part, but the upside down feet and legs worked perfectly for sticking out of the chimney.

The last step was adding the LED tealights – because the open flame of a real tealight would be BAD – to light up the inside of the house.

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

