Coloring Black

25 01 2016

IMG_7962

So coloring black – not quite as easy as covering the image in black. Not if you like texture and dimension like I do 🙂

I fell in LOVE with this image by ColletteTurner  (you can find it here) and thought it would be perfect to practice using black.

My two challenges: color the hat black – without using straight black, and color the bird, also black, but not the same color black as the hat.

To break it down, I wanted two different colors of black without using black.

Easy, right? 😉

For her hat, I used neutral gray copics I have. At the end, I used black for my deepest shadows.

For the bird, I again used the grays, but added some blue, and followed up with black in my deepest shadows.

All in all, I think it turned out okay for my first attempt at using black as main focal points, but the artist made it easy by drawing such an amazing picture.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

