“You’re Grounded,” said the author to the story

11 12 2012

I have a YA Paranormal that I’ve been developing since November 1st. I’ve tried to write it, but it feels forced. So I think I’m missing something somewhere. Regardless, it’s not cooperating, which can be frustrating.

Instead of banging my head against the wall and writing just to erase the words, I listened to a new idea in my head.

Have I mentioned before that showers are magical? Well, they are.

I have tons more plot on an idea that formed yesterday in the shower than I do for the idea I’ve spent the last month and a half working on.

I’ve shelved the current project for the time being. Hopefully, because I’m not obsessing over it, the missing piece will show up. In the mean time, I’ve got a story “talking” to me and I’m going to play with that one!

Take that high maintenance project! Feels like I’m grounding that project. I can hear myself saying–in my best mom voice– “Go to your room. When you can play nicely, you may join us again.”

Actions

Information

One response

11 12 2012
ajdurrant

I’m curious what other writers do when their stories aren’t cooperating…Anyone willing to share?

Leave a Reply

