And Because I Can Laugh at Myself…

5 12 2012

Yesterday’s ride was on a trail at a nearby lake. We have to share the trail with wildlife. This is where my kids learned the valuable cycling lesson of: don’t run over a stick. It might be a snake. My girls weren’t so fond of this lesson. Or the snake.

Anyway.

I heard a sound off to the side. All summer the bunnies have been trying to take me out on my rides. Okay, maybe that’s stretching it, but at least twice they’ve tried to kill me. So every time I hear a sound, I check for those little fluffy tailed assassins, just to be sure.

It wasn’t a bunny. Something large dove into the brush and trees. My first thought was werewolf…

Yep. I’m in writing mode. Crazy thing is, I’m not even playing with werewolves in this new project.

Actions

Information

2 responses

5 12 2012
All Seasons Cyclist

I ran over a snake this past summer — thought it was a stick until it was too late to avoid him (or her). However, since I live north of Chicago and we have snow in the forecast for this weekend I don’t have to worry about seeing any more snakes for at least five more months.

6 12 2012
ajdurrant

Ugh. Sorry. For you and the snake. We didn’t hit our snake, and the kids won’t forget to be watchful 🙂
I’m not sure if our snakes are still coming out or not. Hard to gauge with our weather sometimes.
To be on the safe side, I’ll just assume they could be there, especially since the trail is along the water. The critters need to cross over it to get to the lake.

Leave a Reply

